Sign in / Join

The Great Human Odyssey wins two early Canadian Screen Awards

The Great Human Odyssey wins two early Canadian Screen Awards
UPLOADED BY: Fish Griwkowsky ::: EMAIL: fgriwkowsky:: PHONE: 7804512287 ::: CREDIT: Fish Griwkowsky ::: CAPTION: Composer Darren Fung and filmmaker Niobe Thompson are taking their The Great Human Odyssey project to a live show at Winspear Thursday through Friday. Fish Griwkowsky photo.

Two locally linked auteurs have taken home early-round Canadian Screen Awards for the same science-entertainment project: The Great Human Odyssey.

The planet-sprawling documentary, which appeared on CBC’s The Nature of Things last year, Tuesday night took home two CSAs — Best Science and Nature Documentary Series for series mastermind Niobe Thompson and, for Edmonton-born composer Darren Fung, Best Original Music for a Non-Fiction Program or Series.

Thompson, calling from New York City, notes, “I’d like to say that this win puts Edmonton’s film community on the pinnacle of science-and-nature doc making in Canada. A win for best documentary is a tribute to the entire filmmaking team.

“The accomplishments of cinematographers Daron Donahue and aAron Munson were truly spectacular, and their commitment to a multi-year filming effort was clear in the images. Editor Brenda Terning worked alone for 18 months to craft the three films, something many productions would need a team of editors to achieve.

Thompson says he’s particularly please the music was singled out with its own CSA, “because Edmonton-raised Darren Fung created a truly special score” recording with the Edmonton Symphony Orchestra and Pro Coro.

“For me, this recognition for a film I wanted to make ever since leaving the anthropology department at the U of A couldn’t be sweeter. I’m so grateful to be part of such a talented and inspired film community in Edmonton.”

In 2011, Thompson’s Code Breakers won two Geminis, the earlier incarnation of the CSA, while Odyssey recently won six Alberta Film Awards, including Best Documentary Series.

These CSAs represent two of CBC’s 15 wins so far. Longtime local CTV newscaster Daryl McIntyre was nominated for Best Anchor, Local, but lost to CBC Vancouver’s Andrew Chang. Rosvita Dransfeld’s Anti-Social Limited was nominated for the Donald Brittain Award for Best Social/Political Documentary Program​, which was won by another TVO doc, Sugar Coated.

The main gala on Sunday will feature a modest selection of the remaining Edmonton nominees, mostly in the world of television. These nominations include the world’s first stereoscopic rom-com, writer and actress noms for a sitcom set in a toy company and a nod to a short film about a little boy wanting to wear a dress.

What follows is a list of local nominations remaining at the CSAs. The winners will be awards given out at a Toronto ceremony hosted by comedian Norm McDonald, which broadcasts live at 8 p.m. Sunday on CBC (Channel 4).

Dylan Pearce — 40 Below and Falling

Super Channel (Allarco Entertainment)

Category: Best Direction in a Dramatic Program or Limited Series


Chris Craddock

Tiny Plastic Men – The Ex Factor

Super Channel (Allarco Entertainment)

Category: Best Writing in a Comedy Program or Series


​Belinda Cornish​

Tiny Plastic Men – Business Gayest

Super Channel (Allarco Entertainment)

​Category: Best Performance by an Actress in a Continuing Leading Comedic Role​


​Dan Chameroy​

​Oh No! It’s an Alien Invasion – Food Court​

Teletoon (Corus Entertainment)

Category: Best Performance in an Animated Program or Series


Trevor Anderson, Blake McWilliam

The Little Deputy

Category: Best Short Documentary

© Copyright (c) The Edmonton Journal

Leave a reply