Sign in / Join

Paul Hogan to be honoured at AACTAs

Paul Hogan will receive the AACTA Longford Lyell Award tomorrow night in Sydney, acknowledging his 45 years in Australian television and film.

The presentation will include tributes from Shane Jacobson, Michael Caton, former Tourism Minister John Brown, Peter Faiman, Dave Hughes, Adam Hills, Ernie Dingo and Delvene Delaney.

AFI | AACTA CEO Damian Trewhella said: “Paul Hogan needs no introduction – he created one of Australia’s most successful television shows and then the biggest Australian film of all time, he drove an unparalleled Australian tourism campaign throughout the 1980’s and has long been an incredible ambassador for Australia and our screen industry.

“It’s fitting that we honour Paul this year, 30 years since he became an international Australian icon in Crocodile Dundee.

“On behalf of AFI | AACTA, it is my pleasure to congratulate Paul Hogan, and I look forward to seeing him honoured at the 6th AACTA Awards Ceremony presented by Foxtel this Wednesday.”

The honour comes ahead of a bio-drama to screen on Seven in 2017.

Previous recipients have included Cate Blanchett and Andrew Knight, while Jackie Weaver, Al Clark and Don McAlpine received the Raymond Longford Award.

First presented in 1968, the Longford Lyell Award honours Australian film pioneer Raymond Longford and his partner in filmmaking and life, Lottie Lyell. The Award is the highest honour that the Australian Academy can bestow upon an individual and recognises a person who has made a truly outstanding contribution to the enrichment of Australia’s screen environment and culture.

The AACTAs air at 8.30pm Wednesday night on Seven.

Leave a reply