Sign in / Join
Screen Shot 2015-08-08 at 12.09.14 PM

Kennedy Awards 2015: winners


“Making A Killing,” Four Corners exposé on live baiting in the greyhound racing industry, dominated the Kennedy Awards for NSW Journalism last night.

ABC reporter Caro Meldrum-Hanna (pictured, left) was named NSW Journalist of the Year.

The story also won Outstanding awards in Sport Reporting, Television Current Affairs and Investigative Reporting. She also won in the Consumer Affairs category.

Seven News was awarded Outstanding Television News Reporting for coverage of the Lindt Cafe siege. Senior cameraman Greg Parker received the award for Outstanding News Camera Work for his coverage.

Chris Reason dedicated the award to the victims of the siege tragedy.

“We didn’t know them, we didn’t have that pleasure and that honour,” he said. “This one is for them”.

Sydney’s Director of News Chris Willis said, “This is award is a tribute to the dedication and skill of every person working in the newsroom.

“They faced a challenge no other news organisation in Australia has provided to viewers throughout Australia.”

Television-nominated categories are below (winners in bold):

Les Kennedy Award For Outstanding Crime Reporting
Emma Partridge – The Sydney Morning Herald
Rebecca Le Tourneau, Tara Brown – 60 Minutes, Nine Network
Thea Dikeos, Stephen Pennells – Sunday Night

Paul Lockyer Award For Outstanding Regional Broadcast Journalism
Tom Lowrey – ABC Mid-North Coast
Daniel Sutton – TEN Eyewitness News
Adam Harvey – 7.30 Report, ABC TV

Outstanding Online Video
Luke Blair – 60 Minutes, Nine Network
Mike Bowers, Jonny Weekes, Todd Moore – The Guardian
Bill Code – The Guardian

Peter Frilingos Award For Outstanding Sport Reporting
Peter Lalor – The Australian
Jessica Halloran- The Sunday Telegraph
Caro Meldrum-Hanna, Sam Clark, Max Murch – Four Corners, ABC TV

Young Journalist Of The Year
Ava Benny Morrison – AAP
Taylor Auerbach – The Daily Telegraph
Joel Tozer – The Feed, SBS

John Newfong Award For Outstanding Indigenous Affairs Reporting
Nick Greenaway, Michael Usher – 60 Minutes, Nine Network
Bill Poulos – The Northern Daily Leader
Greg Bearup – The Australian

Gary Ticehurst Award For Outstanding News Camera Coverage
Oliver Clarke, Josh Martin – Nine News
Greg Parker – 7 News
Greg Barbera – Sunday Night, 7

Harry Potter Award For Outstanding Television News Reporting
7 News Team
Damian Ryan – Nine News
Melinda Nucifora – TEN Eyewitness News

Outstanding Television Current Affairs
Four Corners, ABC TV – “Making A Killing”
60 Minutes, Nine Network – “The Siege Survivors”
Four Corners, ABC TV – “The Jobs Game”

Outstanding Consumer Affairs Reporting
Caro Meldrum-Hanna, Ali Russell And Mario Christodoulou – Four Corners, ABC TV
Claire Aird – ABC
Josie Taylor And Alison Branley – 7.30 Report, ABC TV

Scoop Of The Year
Alice Dalley,Tara Brown- 60 Minutes, Nine Network
Robert Ovadia, Adam Walters – 7 News
Paul Maley, Greg Bearup – The Australian

Outstanding Reporting On The Environment
Matthew Kelly – The Newcastle Herald
Marian Wilkinson, Ali Russell And Mario Christodoulou – Four Corners, ABC TV
Anne Davies – The Sydney Morning Herald

Outstanding Investigative Reporting
Anthony Klan – The Australian
Caro Meldrum-Hanna, Sam Clark And Max Murch – Four Corners, ABC TV
Adele Ferguson – Fairfax Media

NSW Journalist Of The Year
Caro Meldrum-Hanna – Four Corners, ABC TV
Phil Rothfield – The Daily Telegraph
Chris Reason – 7 News

Leave a reply