Sign in / Join
Katrina_Sedgwick-Headshot_ (1)

Katrina Sedgwick appointed to AFTRS Council

Katrina Sedgwick, Director and CEO of the Australian Centre for the Moving Image (ACMI), has been appointed to the Australian Film Television and Radio School Council.

She joins Julianne Schultz (chair), Darren Dale (Deputy Chair), Professor Robyn Ewing, Kate Dundas, David Balfour (staff representative) and Conlan Mackenzie (student representative).

“Katrina has an impressive record in the arts, including screen. She’s highly regarded as an innovator and as an intelligent and creative strategist and I am greatly looking forward to her input into the AFTRS Council,” Professor Schultz said.

Katrina was Head of Arts for ABC Television and ABC Arts online ( from 2012 to 2014, responsible for commissioning a diverse range of projects for prime time television and developing a new strategy for Arts across the ABC – TV, Radio, News and Online. She was also the founding Director and CEO of the biennial Adelaide Film Festival, and its’ Investment Fund, supporting Australian features, documentaries, shorts, cross platform and installation works.

Katrina was Special Events Producer for the 1998 and 2000 Adelaide Festival of Arts, the Artistic Director for Adelaide Fringe 2002 and for Come Out ’99, the Australian Festival for Young People. She is on the Creative State Advisory Board, the Monash Culture Media Economy Board and the board of Back to Back Theatre. Katrina was formerly Chair of the South Australian Youth Arts Board (2003 – 2008), and a former board member of Chunky Move, the Australian Children’s Television Foundation and the Art Gallery of SA.

Professor Schultz thanked departing Council member and outgoing Chair of the Finance Audit and Risk Management Committee, producer Andrew Mason who has completed six years on the AFTRS council.

Disclaimer: AFTRS advertises at TV Tonight.

Leave a reply